03) Associates

Prev TOC Next

Associates

Instead of just “viewing” associates, an Admin User can add, edit, and delete them.

Watch our YouTube video about the Associate Manager at https://youtu.be/446Ar5kJaMM  
(if this link is broken because we’ve posted a new version, go to our channel at https://www.youtube.com/SMMware to get to the new video)

 

When you click on Edit for a given associate, you will be taken to a screen with fields where you can make changes.

The system keeps a history of the hourly rate and effective date. So as expected, work done prior to a raise is paid at the old rate, and work done afterwards at the new rate. This is true regardless of the date when the Payroll report is run.

Title Field

The title field can be any value you like, and is not tied to any other part of SMMware in a concrete way.

Type Field

The type field is also not tied to any other part of SMMware, with the exception that if you choose type “Vehicle”, it affects charges to the client for travel. See the separate section about Vehicles.

Color

A color assigned to an associate has just one purpose. When editing an event and when using the “Availability” approach to attendee management, the colors are used for the ‘week’ view, so that you can easily tell which employee is available/unavailable. See the Scheduling section of the Team Lead Manual for more detail.

Job Code Level

When using job codes, there may be multiple sets of codes. A common scenario provides one set for Team Members, and another set for Team Leads. A given associate will get to choose from the set they are assigned to. There can be overlap between sets. If you are not using Job Codes, this setting will have no effect.

Invitable

The ‘Invitable’ dropdown affects scheduling. When a new event is created in scheduling, a list of Associates is presented for choosing attendees/invitees. Invitable must be set to “yes” for the Associate to appear in this list. Some Associates may not be involved in events (Ex: a Bookkeeper), and the purpose of this setting is that they should not receive unneeded emails.

Contact Via

The “Contact Via” setting is used for Scheduling, Tasks, and Calls. The Road Map of future development includes contact via texting, and this setting is in anticipation of that. The dropdown can be set to “Neither” to prevent any emails/texts being sent.

As would be intuitive, an associate cannot be deleted once they have made any hours/expense/mileage entries. When an associate is no longer be with the company, the appropriate action is to set a Termination Date in their profile. If they should return, just blank out the Termination Date to make them active again.

Only active associates can log in. Even if you don’t change their username/password, the fact that they have a Termination Date set will prevent logging in.

Admin Level

The options here are “Normal User”, “Team Lead”, “Admin”, “Senior Admin”, and “Company Owner”.

The Sales Role

If the Sales Role privileges are set to “None”, the Associate won’t have the “Estimate Manager” appear in their submenu under “Clients/Estimates”. If this field is set to “Read/Write”, they will have the menu item and will be able to add/edit/delete Estimates.

The Marketing Role

If the Marketing Role privileges are set to “None”, the Associate won’t have the “MailChimp Commands” menu item under the Admin menu. If set to “Read/Write”, they will.

The HR Role

This role affects whether the Associate can see the File Manager section under an Associate profile. The normal user who has this field set to “None” will not see the File Manager even under their own profile.  Typical use of this File Manager is to store performance reviews.

Normal users can “View” the profile for other Associates, but various sensitive fields will have asterisks in them (such as hourly rate and home address). They can see email address and phone numbers, allowing Associates to contact each other.

The Scheduling Role

If the Scheduling Role privileges are set to None, the Associate won’t have the Master Calendar item appear in the Admin menu, and won’t have access. Read access means they can view it, and Read/Write access means they can add/edit/delete events from the Master Calendar. All Associates can view their “My Schedule” section on the homepage, regardless of the setting for this field.

 

Prev TOC Next